1. CLARIFICATION: Vegan VS. Vegetarian
Apart from abstaining from meat, poultry, fish, and dairy, VEGANS do not make use of everyday products derived from animals. Some VEGETARIANS still use these products. Note that some vegetarians still eat dairy and/or eggs (some even eat poultry and fish, actually), but we’ll expound on that in point 2.
**To make things easier, here is a note: All vegans are vegetarian, but not all vegetarians are vegan.
Or simply, the six kinds. You've got your vegans (or [pure] vegetarians) and your SEMI-VEGETARIANS; comprised of lacto-vegetarians, ovo-vegetarians, and lacto-ovo-vegetarians. Another subset of semi-vegetarians would be your FLEXITARIANS; here we've got our pollotarians and pescetarians. They all have one thing in common: they do not consume red meat. All of their meals are made of veggies, fruits, seeds, nuts, and grain, and for your semi-vegetarians, a few additions of other food groups.
As with anything, respect is key in vegetarianism. There is absolutely no need to call non-vegetarians “murderers” or peg vegetarians as “tree-huggers” or “hippies.” As humans, food is vital to us and it really isn’t anyone’s business as to what food or diet an individual prefers. Maybe you find it appalling to see someone scarfing down leaves for lunch, but maybe you haven’t stopped to think that you look pretty gross to said person, eating that chopped up cow. Whatever your hang-up is on other people’s personal choices, just keep quiet about it. Respect it. It’s okay to not like things, but don’t be a jerk about it!
Here are some famous people you probably didn't know were vegetarian.